Friday, December 15, 2023

Decoding the Gluten-Free Oreos: A Peek Behind the Ingredients

Hello cookie enthusiasts! The world of gluten-free treats just got a bit more exciting with the arrival of gluten-free Oreo cookies from Nabisco. For those who have been patiently waiting to enjoy the classic Oreo experience without the gluten, it seemed like a dream come true. However, let's take a closer look together at the ingredient list to see if these cookies are as delightful as they seem or if there might be a lot of room for improvement. Nabisco's gluten-free Oreos have brought a lot of joy to those with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease. Finally, a chance for everyone to join in on the Oreo fun without the auto-immune / toxic gluten-related attack. But, before we dive into the snacking adventure, let's chat about what makes up these sweet treats and whether they live up to the hype.

The Scoop on Gluten-Free Oreos

Certified sugary and artificial gluten-free bliss. Thanks GIG. We found that the new gluten-free Oreos contain palm oil, which, although commonly used in the food industry, has raised some environmental concerns. The extraction process can sometimes impact natural habitats, and the refining process might strip away some natural nutrients. While it's a dealbreaker for many, it's something to consider for those gluten-free snackers who debate quality and beneficial oil sourcing. Atop the oily fun, these Oreo's are also made with genetically modified ingredients just like their gluten-y big brother. GMO's are a No-No at stores such as Whole Foods Market, Sprouts, Fresh Thyme, Erewhon, and thousands of other independent natural retailers. Need I say more?

Colorful, Artificial Oreo Ingredients:

To capture the classic Oreo taste and look, manufacturers turned back to artificial flavors and colors. These concerning artificial additives, while giving the cookies their signature eye candy look, is not everyone's cup of tea. For those steering clear of scientific lab made artificial ingredient facade, it's worth noting that Oreo cookies are not real food, the are made from artificial "stuff". But hey, if you don't care about your health, these would certainly be an option to buy.

A VERY Sweet Story:

As with many sweet treats, sugar is the focal point of the picture. The gluten-free Oreos are no exception, so if you're keeping an eye on your sugar intake, these cookies might be a once-in-a-while treat. There is monstrous 7 g of fat and a whopping 14g of sugar which includes 13g of added sugar per 10 Oreos* (See packaging for more info). Ready to run?

Avoid Gluten-Free Oreos At Your Local Store:

While these Oreos might not be the superhero of health foods, they're still available nationwide at most retailers. If you indulge in snacking, like, I do, there are tons of cookies to bake at home or buy in store. If you're on the lookout for delicious, tasty alternative options with natural ingredients, and lots of sugar just don't settle for lab-made ultra-processed artificial Oreos? Why do that to yourself or family? As always, snack wisely, and don't forget to savor the joy that comes with snacking with friends and staying active. Burn those calories. Only eat it if you're going to burn it off. Hehe. The world of gluten-free goodies is expanding, and it's a tasty journey for us all to up our standards. Live long and happy snacking!
If you enjoy our gluten-free articles, click to enjoy our ads that connect with your lifestyle and follow us on Instagram at @RealGlutenFreeG right now.

No comments:

Post a Comment